The first Symposium on Captive Propagation and Husbandry of Reptiles and Amphibians was held in June of 1976 at Hood College in Fredrick, MD. The International Herpetological Symposium (IHS) evolved from this meeting. The mission of the IHS is to provide a forum for the dissemination of information and results of such research pertaining to the natural history, conservation biology and captive management/propagation of amphibians and reptiles.

Each year the IHS is held in a different location and is hosted by a zoological, herpetological or herpetocultural institution.

The purpose of the IHS is twofold:

  1. To provide a yearly symposium for the dissemination of information and research pertaining to the natural history, conservation biology, captive management and propagation of amphibians and reptiles

  2. To build a community open to all individuals who are interested in reptiles and amphibians and provide a platform that fosters the exchange of ideas and information

Unlike most herpetological societies and associations, IHS does not have a voting membership. We are governed instead by an Electoral Body that consists of the members of the Board of Directors, Advisory Council, Publication Editors and chairs of various committees. These individuals are selected from all areas of the herpetology and herpetocultural worlds. Zoologists, herpetologists and private herpetoculturists are together involved in the planning and organizing of each annual symposium.



IHS President

Program Chair 

Jennifer Stabile
Field Projects International


IHS Vice President

Vendor Chair

Bob Ashley
Chiricahua Desert Museum 


IHS Treasurer

Grants Committee Chair

Vicky Poole
Fort Worth Zoo


IHS Secretary

Collegiate Speed Session Chair

Justin Elden
St. Louis Zoo


IHS Advisors & Program Chairs

Nancy Aulenbach- Advisor

James Badman- Advisor 

Judith Bryja- Advisor 

Giovanni Fagioli- Advisor 

Todd Goodman- Advisor

Rob Nixon- Advisor 

Gerry Salmon- Advisor 

Nicole Sandoval- Advisor

Vince Scheidt- Advisor

Ryan McVeigh- Advisor

Erica McVeigh- Advisor 

Russ Gurley- Junior/NEXT GEN Herpetologist 

Kat Kyle- Facebook

Neil Balchan- Instagram 

Myke Clarkson- Videographer 

Erin Jackson- Artist in Residence 

Ari Flagle- Special Species Pre-Symposia