Many individuals were fortunate to have known the late Joseph Laszlo, longterm superintendent of the Dept. of Reptiles at the San Antonio Zoo.

In recognition of his lifelong achievements in and contributions to herpetology – especially in herpetoculture – IHS has bestowed an annual award in his name.

The Joseph Laszlo Memorial award is presented to the speaker at the annual IHS meeting who has demonstrated that his or her work represents new and exciting views and advances in herpetology.

For information about the internesting life of Joseph Laszlo, an obituary was published in Herpetological Review, 19, pp. 5-6 (1988).

JL 2.jpg
joe L.jpg
JOSEPH LASZLO, 1935 - 1987



2021 – Rodeo, New Mexico 

Justin Elden, St. Louis Zoo, St. Louis, MO

2020 – Postponed due to cover-19 pandemic

2019 – Belize City, Belize

Derek Cossaboon, Denver Zoo, Denver, CO

2018 – Houston, TX

Micha Petty, Louisiana Exotic Animal Resource Network, LA

2017 – Rodeo, NM

Robert Mendyk, Jacksonville Zoo, Jacksonville, FL

2016 – Saint Louis, MO

Roger Sweeney, Virginia Zoo, Norfolk, VA

2015 – San Antonio, TX

Colette Adams, Gladys Porter Zoo, Brownsville, TX

2014 – Riverside, CA

Philippe De Vosjioli, San Diego, CA

2013 – New Orleans, LA

Chawna Schuett, Saint Louis Zoo, St. Louis, MO

2012 – Baltimore, MD

Marie Rush, DVM

2011 – Fort Worth, TX

Alan Kardon, San Antonio Zoo, San Antonio, TX

2010 – Tucson, AZ

Carl J. Franklin, Univ. of Texas at Arlington, Arlington, TX

2008 – Nashville, TN

Wayne Hill, National Reptile Breeders' Exp, Winter Haven, FL

2007 – Toronto, Canada

Ray E. Ashton, Jr., Ashton Biodiversity Research & Preservation Inst., Newberry FL

2006 – San Antonio, TX

David Lazcano, Jr., PhD, Universidad Autonoma de Nuevo Leon, Mexico

2005 – Phoenix, AZ

Dante Fenolio, Univ. of Miami, Coral Gables, FL

2004 – Daytona Beach, FL

Stephen P. Mackessy, PhD., University of Northern Colorado, Greeley, CO

2003 – Houston, TX

Bill Love, Blue Chameleon Ventures, Alva, FL


2002 – St. Louis, MO

John Brueggen, General Curator, St. Augustine Alligator Farm, 
St. Augustine, FL

2001 – Detroit, MI

Scott J. Stahl, DVM, Eastern Exotic Veterinary Center, Fairfax VZ

2000 – New Orleans, LA

Gregory C. LeperaJacksonville Zoological Gardens

1999 – San Diego, CA

Carlos H. Arevalo Gtez, Guadalajara Zoo

1998 – Cincinnati, OH

Harry Greene, PhD., Univ. of California, Berkeley

1997 – Liberia, Costa Rica

Allen E. Anderson, Norwalk, IA

1996 – San Antonio, TX

David Grow, Oklahoma City Zoo

1995 – Denver, CO

Ross M. Prazant, DVM/Phillipe DeVosjoli

1994 – New Orleans, LA

Dante Fenolio/Michael Ready, Los Angeles, CA

1993 – Miami, FL

Dr. Hans-George Horn, Germany

1992 –St. Louis, MO

Brian A. Kend

1991 – Seattle, WA

Richard Shine, PhD.University of Sydney, Australia